2012-13 World Series of Poker Circuit Bossier City Day 2: 11 Remain; Gibralter Leads

September 24, 2012, PokerNews  

Day 2 of the 2012-13 World Series of Poker Circuit Horseshoe Bossier City Main Event. Play began with 140 hopefuls eying Day 3, but only 11 players survived. Jeff Gibralter leads the field with 1.569 million.

Jay Diaz (1.118m), Cliff Fisher (1.085m) and Pete Rios (1.047m) are just behind Gibralter on the chip leaderboard. Rounding out the field are Abraham Araya, Jim Parker, Jesse Maupin, Mark Burford, Jeff Siler, Seneca Easley and Michael Sanders.

It’s worth noting that Araya, Burford and Sanders made the final table of the 2012 WSOPC Choctaw Main Event final table, with Araya taking home the win.

Howard “Tahoe” Andrew, “Captain” Tom Franklin, Charles “Woody” Moore, Caufman Talley, La Sengphet and Bradley Lipsey all earned a cash but fell short of making Day 3.

A long list of accomplished players were sent to the rail on Sunday, including Mark Kroon, Allen Kessler, Charles “Woody” Moore, Pej Niyati, Maurice Hawkins, “Captain” Tom Franklin, Kyle Cartwright, David Nicholson, Corey Burbick, Drew Dumanski and John Dolan.

Kroon was the bubble boy and lost all his chips in a tough spot. His elimination came on the second round of round-for-round play. He went to a {8-Diamonds} {K-Clubs} {2-Diamonds} flop with Pete Rios and following a check-raise from Rios, Kroon moved all in. Rios called holding {8-Clubs} {2-Clubs} and Kroon held {A-Diamonds} {K-Spades}. The turn cemented Kroon’s fate when it brought the {8-Spades}.

The bubble burst with two minutes in the level before the dinner break. When the field returned from dinner, action sped up and within the first couple of hands, nine players busted. The field was trimmed from 45 players to 13 in five levels.

Caufman Talley, the chip leader going into Sunday's day of play bowed out in 18th place. In the hand that crippled his stack, he was up against Jay Diaz in a kings versus aces preflop showdown. Diaz’s aces held and Talley lost around 400,000. Talley never really recovered from the blow and was eliminated shortly thereafter.

Chip Counts Heading into Day 3

PlacePlayerChip Count
1Jeff Gibralter1,569,000
2Jay Diaz1,118,000
3Cliff Fisher1,085,000
4Pete Rios1,047,000
5Abraham Araya852,000
6Jim Parker731,000
7Jesse Maupin612,000
8Mark Burford415,000
9Jeff Siler310,000
10Seneca Easley296,000
11Michael Sanders202,000

Cards will be in the air on Monday for Day-3 action at 1200 CST (1800 BST). A winner will be crowned on Monday and you can follow all of the action on PokerNews.com.

Follow PokerNews on Twitter for up-to-the-minute news.